Watch Live as Kids Test Their Inventions in Annual Challenge – Dec 11, 2009

Tune in to see middle- and high-school teams showcase their inventions — cardboard bridges capable of carrying up to 235 pounds (107 kilograms), in this year’s Invention Challenge hosted by NASA’s Jet Propulsion Laboratory in Pasadena, Calif.

The live event will air on the “NASAJPL” channel available on Ustream TV at http://www.ustream.tv/channel/nasajpl  on Dec. 11, 2009, starting at 11:30 a.m. PST (2:30 p.m. EST and 19:30 UTC).

Twenty student teams from throughout Southern California will watch to see if their bridges remain standing as bricks get piled on. Eleven teams of JPL engineers and scientists will also compete in this friendly but challenging contest.

The bridges must meet certain requirements: they must be made of cardboard or paper products, use reasonable amounts of glue, span a 1.2 meter (48 inch) gap, and be no more than 45.7 centimeters (18 inches) wide. The bridges must carry standard-sized bricks (between one and 44) that weigh about 2.42 kilograms (5.35 pounds) each.

If you are on Facebook show your support by saying you’ll “attend” the Invention Challenge remotely at: http://www.facebook.com/event.php?eid=185358382020

More information about the Invention Challenge is available at: http://www.jpl.nasa.gov/events/inventionchallenge/2009/

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: