New Journey to Jupiter Video Chat – June 3, 2010

Get ready to go to the solar system’s biggest planet! NASA is launching a new robotic mission to Jupiter in 2011. Classrooms are invited to join NASA/JPL engineer Tracy Drain as she discusses why NASA is sending the Juno spacecraft to Jupiter, how it will get there and what it will study. The conversation will be geared to students in grades 6 through 8. The watch the live web chat on June 3, 2010, at 1 p.m. Eastern/10 a.m. Pacific, go to http://dln.nasa.gov/dln/content/webcast/dlnstreaming.jsp

Tracy will be speaking live via video with a classroom in southern California. All classrooms may participate by emailing questions before or during the live chat for Tracy to answer. Possible topics to consider for questions are the sizes and distances of planets, planet formation and space travel. Teachers can email questions to jplspaceeducation@gmail.com. Questions sent in advance should be emailed by Tuesday, June 1 at 6 p.m. Eastern/3 p.m. Pacific. Due to volume, we cannot guarantee that every question will be answered.

For more information about the Juno Mission, go to http://www.nasa.gov/mission_pages/juno/main/index.html

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: